Sinfonia Varsovia Rehearsal Room, ul. Grochowska 272, Warsaw

Dances for Strings – chamber concert

Gunnar Stubseid hardingfele
Laurens Weinhold violin / hardingfele
Karolina Gutowska violin
Julia Iwanciw-Gąsior violin / viola
Mateusz Błaszczak cello
Nikita Khnykin piano

Pēteris Vasks Summer Dances for two violins
Edvard Grieg Slåtter (Norwegian folk dances), Op. 72
No. 1 Gibøens bruremarsj (Norwegian wedding march). Marcia  = 92
No. 7 Røtnams-Knut. Halling. Allegro moderato, ma vivace  = 100
Johan Swendsen Romance in G major, Op. 26 for violin and piano
Edvard Grieg
Notturno from Lyric Pieces, Op. 54 No. 4
Bryllupsdag på Troldhaugen (Wedding Day in Troldhaugen) from Lyric Pieces, Op. 65 No. 6
Fryderyk Chopin Waltz in A-flat major, Op. 42
Grażyna Bacewicz
Polish Caprice for violin solo
Oberek No. 1 for violin and piano
Masovian Dance for cello and piano
Humoresque for violin and piano
Zoltán Kodály Intermezzo na trio smyczkowe
Ernő Dohnányi Marcia. Allegro i Rondo (Finale). Allegro vivace (mov. I, V) from Serenade in C major, Op. 10 for string trio
Fryderyk Chopin Finale. Allegretto (mov. IV) from Piano Trio in G minor, Op. 8

Traditional music of Norway and Poland were the main theme of three musical events at Sinfonia Varsovia’s headquarters. On 11–13 August we heard folk-inspired classical music during one of the Dance Meetings on Grochowska Street and two concerts in unconventional spaces.

The final concert of the weekend – on 13 August at 5:00 PM in the Sinfonia Varsovia Rehearsal Hall at 272 Grochowska Street – featured a performance by Polish and Norwegian musicians. The trio of young musicians from Sinfonia Varsvia – Karolina Gutowska , Julia Iwanciw-Gąsior and Mateusz Błaszczak  – were joined by violinist Laurens Weinhold and young accomplished pianist Nikita Khnykin. Gunnar Stubseid, the living legend of the Norwegian traditional hardingfele violin, was the core of the ensemble. The 75-year-old master of this instrument performed traditional melodies that have become a direct inspiration for Edvard Grieg’s piano series Slåtter, Op. 72.

Ministerstwo Kultury i Nauki

Working together for a green, competitive and inclusive Europe.